Quick Answer: How Do I Cancel My VA Ezpass?

Do you have to return EZ Pass?

Please return the Tag(s) in the prepaid envelope as quickly as possible.

Continued use of the Tag(s) after deactivation, depending upon the toll facility, may result in the gate not being raised or may result in a toll violation..

Can EZ Pass be read in glove compartment?

Yes, an EZPass transponder will be read from the upper glove compartment of a Gen II or III even in a high-speed (55 or 65 MPH) lane.

Does EZ Pass save you money?

Benefits of E-ZPass There’s no more digging for cash or waiting in line to pay the toll. E-ZPass also saves you money through discounts offered by many toll facilities and helps reduce traffic congestion. With E-ZPass you receive the following benefits: Most fares are less than cash rates saving you money.

How do I know if my Ezpass is working?

To check if your transponder works: Drive through a lane with an automatic coin machine. If you get a green light, you’re good; if it’s red, there’s a problem. Drive through an I-PASS lane on a toll road ramp — if a blue or yellow light flashes, it’s fine.

Do EZ Pass transponders go bad?

Drivers either pay via E-ZPass or the system records an image of the vehicle’s license plate so a toll bill can go out in the mail. … The E-ZPass battery is sealed inside the transponder. You can’t replace the battery yourself, but it should last about a decade before you need to replace the transponder.

Why does my EZ Pass said Go Toll Unpaid?

E-ZPass users usually don’t pay attention to the electronic sign that tells them the toll is paid. If they did, they might see a notice that says “toll unpaid.” That is an indicator that the battery is dead in the transponder. … If your battery dies, E-ZPass will give you a new transponder for free.

What happens if you accidentally go through EZ Pass?

If you use transponder lanes without a transponder or account affiliated with your tag, you’ll get billed, and you will have from 7 to thirty days (depending on the system) to pay. If you do it repeatedly, you’ll be flagged and prone to getting stopped.

How much is a toll violation in VA?

If the matter proceeds to court, the owner or operator of the vehicle shall be liable for a civil penalty as follows: for a first offense, $50; for a second offense within one year from the first offense, $100; for a third offense within two years from the second offense, $250; and for a fourth and any subsequent …

How do I return my EZ Pass transponder?

Please do not return your tag to the address printed on the tag. Send your tag(s) to the New Jersey E-ZPass Customer Service Center, P.O. Box 52003, Newark, NJ 07101-8203. When your tag is received in good condition, we will refund your tag deposit, if applicable, plus any unused toll balance, generally within 30 days.

How do I pay a missed toll in Virginia?

You can pay the charges on the Toll Violation Notice by:Calling the E-ZPass Service Center at 877-762-7824.Sending a check or money order along with the payment slip to P.O. Box 1234, Clifton Forge, VA 24422-1234.By accessing the Web at www.ezpassva.com.In person at an E-ZPass Service Center.

What happens if you go through EZ Pass without it in VA?

All Express Lanes in Virginia require an E-ZPass. If you travel on Express Lanes without an E-ZPass you will receive a violation notice unless you go to that particular facility’s website and make a missed toll payment within a certain number of days of the transaction before the invoice is issued.

How do I avoid EZ Pass fee?

Drivers can avoid it by opting to get quarterly statements. The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey charges its E-ZPass customers a $1 per month service fee.

Can you use someone elses EZPass?

Yes, you may transfer a transponder between vehicles as long as they are of the same vehicle class. There are penalties for using a transponder in a different vehicle class (i.e. Car transponder in a tractor- trailer.) Please be sure that all vehicles using the transponder are listed on your EZ Pass account.

What happens if you accidentally pass a toll?

The registered owner will receive a violation notice in the mail (usually within two weeks). Each violation transaction is assessed a $57.50 penalty in addition to the toll amount due. If the registered owner has no previous violations, the penalties will be waived. This is a courtesy for first time violators only.

Is there a monthly fee for EZ Pass VA?

In Virginia, an E-Z Pass costs $35 in prepaid tolls and a 50 cent fee per month (or $6) annually. … There are 15 states that currently use the E-Z Pass system, and, technically, drivers can purchase a pass from any of the states.

What do I do with an old EZ Pass transponder?

Transponders no longer in use should be returned to a Walk-In Center for proper disposal, or mailed to NH Customer Service, P.O. Box 52011, Newark, NJ 07101-8211.

How do I return a transponder?

If you wish to return your transponder, you may return it by:Mail via Xpress Post to our head office at 6300 Steeles Ave. W., Woodbridge, ON, L4H1J1. … Drop off at our head office at 6300 Steeles Ave. W., Woodbridge, ON, L4H1J1.

Is an EZ Pass worth it?

Definitely worth it. You only pay for what you use and it’s always there in case you don’t have cash for random tolls. Also good for all the other toll roads up/down the East Coast.